Archive for April 22nd, 2014

Open Source Flying

April 22, 2014

Open source code is great because anyone can use it. I’ve recently been contributing code to three open source projects. Firstly. I created an iOS wrapper for the open source airport data found at ourairports.com. Thanks for maintaining the data, ourairports!

https://github.com/ckhsponge/iairportsdb

plane

I also contributed to a wrapper for the world magnetic model. I think this code exists in iOS already because the functionality exists in the compass app but Apple isn’t sharing it with developers.  Thanks for maintaining the model, Stephen!

https://github.com/stephent/ObjectiveWMM

The above two projects are used in the wildly popular NRST: Descent Rate & Airport Finder. I’ll post more about that later.

I’ve been using and trying to advocate for Yalldo. It’s a great social network for flying and I hope it catches on more. Their apps let you record flights that can then be posted online. I noticed that if the app quits, which is not uncommon for long running background apps, the GPS trace will be lost. I emailed Antoine and offered some code for persisting traces. See below. Thanks for maintaining the social network, Antoine!

https://github.com/ckhsponge/iGPSTraceStore

 

Best Movie of 2013

April 22, 2014

The best movie I saw in 2013 was Wreck-It Ralph although some people may claim that movie is from 2012. Sugar Rush and Sarah Silverman are perfect. The allusions to old school video games never stop. Love it.

MV5BNzMxNTExOTkyMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzEyNDc0OA@@._V1_SX214_AL_